A conversation with The Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL)

By Centre for Evidence and Implementation

COUNTRY

Australia and Online

Date & time

15 July 2020

5:00pm

-

15 July 2020

6:00pm

About this event

The Centre for Evidence and Implementation and Monash University are delighted to present the third webinar in the EIS Virtual Series and warmly welcome you to:

A conversation with
The Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL)
Perspectives on robust evidence and effective
implementation from the global South

The Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) started as a centre at the economics department of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) focused on improving the effectiveness of anti-poverty programs. In 2019 J-PAL co-founders Esther Duflo and Abhijit Banerjee, and long-time research affiliate Michael Kremer, won the Nobel Prize in Economics. The organisation is recognised as one of the world’s foremost research institutions working to reduce worldwide inequality by providing policymakers with clear scientific evidence on what works in the fight against global poverty.

This webinar will offer lessons for evidence and implementation from the world’s innovation powerhouses and key emerging markets. Some of the most effective practice in evidence and implementation is taking place in the diverse contexts of the global South. Backed by considerable investment, evidence and implementation ecosystems in South Asia and Sub-Saharan Africa are increasingly resilient with strong structural foundations, significant and growing capacity, and a complexity that the global movement has much to learn from.

Shobhini Mukerji is the Executive Director of J-PAL South Asia, and Anna Kilpatrick is Deputy Executive Director of J-Pal Africa. Please join Shobhini and Anna in conversation with Mary Abdo, CEI’s Managing Director, as they explore what ‘good evidence’ means in their particular contexts, why and how policymakers should pay attention to evidence, knowledge translation in context, and best practices for scaling up. The session will also consider how COVID-19 has changed the landscape for discovering, identifying and using good evidence in the context of the global South.

Wednesday 15 July 2020
5.00 – 6.00pm (AEST)
3.00 – 4.00pm (Singapore)
12.30 – 1.30pm (IST)
8.00 – 9.00am (BST)
7.00 – 8.00am (UTC)

REGISTER NOW

Stay updated. Sign up for the #1 newsletter on social investment in Asia.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

©2021 Asian Venture Philanthropy Network | AVPN is registered in Singapore as a charity (UEN 201016116M)