The Power of Community: Social and Solidarity Economy (SSE) and Financial Systems to Fight against the COVID-19 Crisis

Event details
  • July 21st, 2020, 08:00 PM -
  • Country: Online, South Korea

The Power of Community: Social and Solidarity Economy (SSE) and Financial Systems to Fight against the COVID-19 Crisis

21 July 2020, Tuesday
08:00 (GMT) / 10:00 in Brussels / 11:00 in Kampala-Nairobi / 15:00 in Bangkok /
16:00 in Singapore-Hong Kong / 17:00 in Seoul-Tokyo

Language: English with Korean simultaneous interpretation

Register now!

Sharing a common goal to put social and environmental values over profit-maximization, Social and Solidarity Economy (SSE) exists in various forms like social enterprises, cooperatives, foundations, mutuals and self-help groups.

The COVID-19 has a tremendous impact on our society and SSE. A collaborative approach among different actors in SSE, including finance actors, is needed to alleviate this cross-sectoral impact.

Speakers:

  • Patsian Low, Chief of Staff, Asian Venture Philanthropy Network (AVPN)
  • Clifford N. Rosenthal, Author of Democratizing Finance / Former CEO of Inclusiv (National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions)
  • Jongduk Jung, Engagement Manager, Social Value and Solidarity Foundation (SVS Fund), Korea
  • Dr. Frank Aswani, CEO, Africa Venture Philanthropy Alliance (AVPA)

Key Questions:

  • What impact has the COVID-19 crisis brought to the speakers’ cities and members, in particular on finance actors in SSE like foundations and philanthropic entities, ethical banks, financial cooperatives, solidarity finance, SACCO, mutuals, etc. ?
  • What are the responses of those finance actors to the impact of COVID-19 in collaboration with their members or/and partners in the community?
  • What types of innovative financing structure will help SSE actors to access finance in the post COVID-19 period?
  • How should public authorities, community and finance actors in SSE join hands together to set strategies for the recovery of our economies in the post COVID-19 era?

For more information, click here.