“What If a Fire Never Became a Disaster?” Webinar

By Synergos

COUNTRY

Online and Hong Kong SAR China

Date & time

24 February 2021

8:00am

-

24 February 2021

2:31pm

About this event

Wednesday, February 24
8:00 AM – 9:15 AM Hong Kong
4:00 PM – 5:15 PM Pacific
7:00 PM – 8:15 PM Eastern

The parallels are strong: drought, parched landscapes, high temperatures, prolonged heatwaves, and dry lightning storms.California, Australia and the Amazon are burning.

All are vulnerable as climate change and human changes to landscapes increase the likelihood, size and frequency of fires, exacerbating every risk factor to make them common place.

We are taking the opportunity to look across both sides of the Pacific to learn how to collaborate and try to mitigate the risks and disaster associated with this escalating and recurring threat.

We will have representation from Australia, Brazil, Indonesia, and the United States. We will be informing and engaging each other about the challenges of wildfires and sharing their best practices and lessons learned that can help us collaborate and better manage these disasters collectively.

Speakers

  • Sineia Bezerra do Vale, Indigenous Council of Roraima, Brazil
  • Genevieve Biggs, Special Projects Officer, Gordon & Betty Moore Foundations
  • Margarita Mora, Managing Director of Partnerships, Nia Tero
  • Dr. Jatna Suprianta, Chairman, Research Centre for Climate Change, University of Indonesia
  • Adrian Turner, Chief Executive Officer, Minderoo Foundation Fire & Flood Resilience Initiative

Stay updated. Sign up for the #1 newsletter on social investment in Asia.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

©2021 Asian Venture Philanthropy Network | AVPN is registered in Singapore as a charity (UEN 201016116M)